Programme structure for Master of Science in Economics

This programme plan applies for students with the startup in Autumn 2018.

Programme plan 2018

The Master of Science in Economics program consists of 120 ECTS, where:

Mandatory courses: 45 ECTS
Year 1
ECN302 Mathematics for Economists, 5 ECTS (August)
ECN311 Microeconomics, 10 ECTS (Autumn)
ECN306 Economics of Sustainability, 5 ECTS (Autumn)
ECN320 Macroeconomics III, 10 ECTS (Spring)

Year 2
ECN301 Econometric methods, 10 ECTS (Autumn)- ECN201 Econometrics or the equivalent is a prerequisite for ECN301 and should be taken before ECN301.
ECN305 Research Methods in Economics, 5 ECTS (Autumn)

Specialization courses: 30 ECTS
Master thesis: 30 ECTS 
Elective courses: 15 ECTS

Students may choose specializations in the fields of:
• Environment, Climate and Energy Economics - Environment and Climate Oriented
• Environment, Climate and Energy Economics -Energy Oriented

• Development and Global Change 
• Financial and Commodity Market Analysis 

Students may as well choose to tailor a general program in Economics with courses across the fields of Economics and Business without a specialization. In that case, students in addition to mandatory courses of 45 ECTS and a master thesis of 30 ECTS must take:
• 30 ECTS: ECN- or BUS-courses on 300-level
• 15 ECTS: can be chosen among other courses at NMBU at 200- or 300-level, or from a list of eligible 100-level courses
Courses at the School of Economics and Business (English)
   Courses at NMBU (English)

Published 8. April 2019 - 14:42 - Updated 8. April 2019 - 14:42