Programme structure for Master of Science in Economics

This programme plan applies for students with the startup in Autumn 2020.

Programme plan 2020

There are two possible study tracks for earning a Master of Science in Economics: by tailoring a programme of general studies in economics across the fields of Economics and Business, or by following a specialization in one of three areas of focus:

Whichever track is chosen, the Master of Science in Economics programme consists of 120 ECTS, under a 50-40-30 ECTS plan as outlined below:

Mandatory courses: 50 ECTS
Year 1
ECN302 Mathematics for Economists, 5 ECTS (August)
ECN311 Microeconomics, 10 ECTS (Autumn)
ECN306 Economics of Sustainability, 5 ECTS (Autumn)
BUS360 Taxes, Inequality and Sustainability I, 5 ECTS (January)
ECN301 Econometric methods, 10 ECTS (Spring)- ECN201 Econometrics or the equivalent is a prerequisite for ECN301 and should be taken before ECN301.

Year 2
ECN320 Macroeconomics III, 5 ECTS (August)
ECN305 Research Methods in Economics
, 5 ECTS (Autumn)
ECN303 Impact Assessment Methods, 5 ECTS (Autumn)

General study courses or specialization courses: 40 ECTS

For those choosing to tailor their study in economics
Students must have at least 25 ECTS of 300-level courses in Economics or Business, with the remaining 20 ECTS in general electives (i.e., any courses at the 200-level or higher in the School of Economics and Business or any 100-level course from another institute).

Courses at the School of Economics and Business (English) 
Courses at NMBU (English) 

For those choosing a specialization
There are some required courses that must be taken (between 20-35 ECTS) and general electives (any courses at the 200- or 300-level or a 100-level course from another institute). 

The specific requirements within each specialization is provided:

Written master thesis and oral defense: 30 ECTS


Published 8. April 2020 - 10:26 - Updated 21. April 2020 - 9:49