EU/EEA Nationals

EU/EEA students should register an application on the Application Portal Norway. At the end of the registration process on the portal, students are requested to provide supporting documents to the local police station. It is not possible to submitt supporting documents to an embassy abroad. Instead, after arrival in Norway, students should deliver their supporting documents one of the local police stations below:

If you live in Ås, you may submit your documents to any of the police stations in the Øst Police District.
This includes the police stations in Romerike (Lillestrøm), Østfold (Sarpsborg or Grålum) and Indre Østfold (Askim) politistasjon. See the application portal for all options available.

Students must submit the follow supporting documents to the police station:

  • a valid identity card or passport
  • confirmation of admission to an approved educational institution
  • private health insurance or European health insurance card
  • handwritten or typed personal declaration stating that they have sufficient funds to support themselves while studying in Norway. The statement must be signed by the student.

More detailed information can be found on the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration's pages on the registration requirement.

If you have any questions, please check out our frequently asked questions page.

Published 7. February 2017 - 10:33 - Updated 10. August 2022 - 9:26