UNESCO Avicenna Award for Ethics in Science

The Award Ceremony of the fifth edition of the UNESCO Avicenna Prize (2019) took place in the margins of the 40th Session of UNESCO’s General Conference, at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, on 14 November 2019.

This edition rewards activities in the field of "Ethics of Environment" with a special thematic focus on climate change ethics and environmental sustainability.

Professor Donald A. Brown received 2019 UNESCO Avicenna Award for Ethics in Science for his lifelong commitment to ethics of climate change science, policy and communication.

UNESCO award ceremony

UNESCO award ceremony

Esther Kuisch Laroche

About the prize

Established in 2003 by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 166th session, the UNESCO Avicenna Prize for Ethics in Science is awarded every two years to individuals and groups with outstanding achievements in the field of ethics in science. Its purpose is to highlight the importance of ethics in science, to develop a reflection on the issue and to bring it to the attention of scientists and the general public.

The Prize rewards the following activities:

  • high-quality reflection and research on ethical issues raised by recent scientific and technological advances;
  • policy advice on ethical issues in research and development to better design and implement science ethics policies;
  • activities aimed at developing educational practices and training about the ethical dimensions of science; 
  • outstanding contributions to foster science communication, public awareness. and debate on the ethics of science and technology.

Members of jury

Nominations are assessed by an independent International Jury, consisting of three personalities of a recognized reputation in the field covered and appointed by the Director-General from among the members of the World Commission on the Ethics of Scientific Knowledge and Technology (COMEST).   Based on the recommendations of the International Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO selects the prizewinner(s).

  • Luka Omladič (Slovenia)
  • Deborah H. Oughton (Norway)
  • Grace Sirju-Charran (Trinidad and Tobago)

Members of jury of the 2019 UNESCO Avicenna award

Members of jury of the 2019 UNESCO Avicenna award



Published 15. November 2019 - 10:03 - Updated 15. November 2019 - 10:05